hike works on one mobile one number principle! Hence, when change your mobile number, you will loose all your chats history, Ownership of Group Chats, Favorites, SMS Balance and rewards (if applicable) and Settings.
How to change mobile number?
You need to either
Once unlinked OR deleted your old account, you can now register with the new number.